Do I need a Visa? – UK and Europe

by on July 2, 2015

Do I need a Visa – Europe & UK

Regardless of where you are travelling and whether you need a visa or not, please check the expiry date on your passport first. Most countries won’t allow entry if you will have less than 3 months remaining when you are due to leave, so ensure that your passport has at least six months left to run when you make your entry.

It’s also a good idea to take evidence that you plan to return to your home country at the end of your stay. (Bank account / evidence of your employment etc is useful.

United Kingdom

Citizens of Australia, Canada, US do not need a visa to visit the United Kingdom as long as they have a valid passport and sufficient funds to support their stay. This also applies for citizens of other EU countries, carrying a valid national ID.

In addition, passport holders of the following countries are eligible for visa-exemption for stays in the UK of up to 6 months or 3 months if they enter from the Republic of Ireland: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Timor-Leste, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR passport), Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau (SAR passport), Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, FS Micronesia, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan (some restrictions), Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City (conditions)

Travellers from some countries, including Passport holders of Oman,Qatar and United Arab Emirates may obtain an electronic visa waiver online and citizens of a number of countries including some African, South American and South East Asian countries require a visa (including transit past immigration (landside) but not if they remain airside.

A larger group of passport holders require a visa for any type of visit and transit.

In any case, if you are unsure, or suspect that the arrangements for your type of passport may have changed recently, it would be wise to check with the official United Kingdom Government information. If you need to apply for or extend a UK visa, or apply for a transit visa, these links will help.


Holders of Australian, Malaysian, New Zealanders and Japan planning to spend less than a total of 90 days within a 180 day period in the ‘Schengen area’ are included in the list of tourists who do not require visas for countries which are parties to the Schengen Convention. Citizens of the United States, Canada and a number of South American countries also enjoy this status.  There may be some conditions for holders of passports for some countries. Citizens of other EU countries, carrying a valid national ID may move freely between the countries.

The following countries are parties to the Schengen Convention: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. 

Much of the rest of Asia and Africa, along with some South American countries, require a visa with citizens of a few countries requiring one even in transit.

If you are required to apply for a visa, make your application to the country you consider your main destination, or the country you will visit first, it is up to them to approve or deny a multiple entry visa. This LINK will give you more information on the Schengen area and information on making the Visa application HERE.

If you are planning to visit non – Schengen countries it would be wise to check the individual country’s government website for visa requirements. Albania, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, parts of Russia, part of Turkey, Ukraine, Montenegro, Serbia as well as Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican, Iceland are among the non Schengen countries.

One other important thing to remember, non-visa related, but useful to keep in mind is that not all countries in Europe use the Euro as their official currency, even if they are part of the Schengen area. Among these are Switzerland and Czech Republic. You may purchase Swiss Francs before you arrive in Switzerland, but you can only change Czech Kroner once you are in Czech Republic.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response