Visa-Free entry to Indonesia for more countries

by on November 17, 2014

Tourists to Indonesia from Australia, Japan, Russia, South Korea and China will have the current USD35 visa-on-arrival fee waived from January 2015, in a recently announced plan from the new Jokowi administration. **** UPDATE – the inclusion of Australia was removed just before the planned implementation, although an announcement has been made on 22nd December 2015 that Australia will be added to the Visa free list again soon. We’ll keep you posted!  UPDATE 2This time it’s happening.

Indonesia’s Minister for Maritime Affairs Coordination, Indroyono Soesilo hopes that the initiative will boost Indonesia’s visitor arrivals and tourism income which is currently lagging behind neighbouring Malaysia and Thailand.

Currently, visa-free visits are available to citizens from ASEAN countries, Macao and Hong Kong and it is hoped that the expansion of the list will increase the numbers. Over the past year, about 900,000 Australians visited Indonesia, with the vast majority making Bali their main destination.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.